IRPA 13 - Glasgow  >   Sievert Lecture

Sievert Lecture


Each IRPA Congress sees the award of prestigious awards for valuable contributions in the field of radiological protection.

Rolf M. Sievert Award

IRPA13 scientific programme will be opened by the Sievert Lecture, presented to the winner of the 2012 Sievert award, Richard Osborne, by the IRPA Executive. This award is granted in honour of Rolf M Sievert, a pioneer in radiation physics and radiation protection.

Previous recipients of the Sievert award are:
Professor Bo Lindell, Prof. W.V. Mayneord, Dr. Lauriston. S. Taylor, Sir Edward Pochin, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Jacobi, Dr. Giovanni Silini, Dr. Daniel Beninson, Prof. Dr. Itsuzo Shigematsu, Dr. Abel J. Gonzalez and Prof. Christian Streffer

Richard V Osborne to receive the 2012 Sievert Award and present his lecture "Story of Tritium".

Richard V Osborne was born and educated in the UK, graduating from Cambridge and London Universities. He emigrated to Canada in 1963 where he joined AECL at Chalk River, where he spent the next 35 years working in the field of health & environmental sciences, where he became Divisional Director and directed the AECL research programs in radiation biology, health physics and environmental research.

He is now President of Ranasara Consultants Inc., working in the general area of radiological protection. He founded and was first President of the Canadian Radiation Protection Association in 1979. He was Vice-President of the International Radiation Protection Association from 1992–1996. He served on Committee 4 of the International Commission on Radiological Protection and he chaired the ICRP Task Group on Radon in Buildings. He also chaired the ICRP Working Party on controllable dose.

Downloadable content:
Audio (134MB)
Powerpoint Presentation(7MB)